PDA

View Full Version : dominate eye

Anthony762
07-13-2009, 02:19 AM
Hi can someone explain the dominate eye theory?

When I started I looked through both eyes but after watching a video on youtube of terry griffihs saying to put the cue under your dominate eye I have been doing it for about 2 years.

But now I want to go back to cue under both eyes but my heads seems tilt?

terrydavidson
07-13-2009, 11:51 AM
I can't really explain why the dominant eye happens, but it is a fact that most people do have one eye that is used to focus on an object more than the other. However there are a fair number of people without a dominant eye.

The problems in snooker come when a player has an opposite dominant eye, i.e. - right handed player with left eye dominant. In order to get the cue under the left eye the player has to bring the cue close into his chest and unless he has a straight elbow drop on follow through he will start 'steering' the cue around his chest which lead to coming across the cueball to the left.

We teach here that it's much better to start out cueing right under the middle of the chin and letting the brain work out the correct aiming through positive feedback by staying down on the shot and observing the path of the object ball.

Anathony, as each player's physique is different this is going to take some work on your own as I cannot tell you how to strighten your head except I know you are going to have to bend your upper spine more.

I'd suggest getting a mirror and placing it on the baulkline so you can see your cue, head, shoulder and right elbow. Now, using the brown spot as the cueball cue up along the baulk line. Then with the cue in the address position, close your eyes and try and feel your way to getting your head centrally behind the cue. A little hint is to push the hips a little more to the left and twisting the upper spine until you feel you are central. Then open your eyes and check in the mirror.